Become a member

Membership of Type allows unlimited access to our online library. Join to support new research and writing on the design of the built environment.

You can read more about membership here.

Become a member

Already a member? Login to your account to avail of unlimited downloads.

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for all the latest new and updates.

RIAI Bulletin 54

The Clavis Press
€ 4.75 

Beginning in 1972, the RIAI Bulletin was a monthly newsletter to inform Institute members of the wide range of matters with which the RIAI was involved.



J. Owen Lewis

RIAI Reports


Southern Report

Gerard O’Callaghan

Committees 1985-1986

Building Contracts

Stone Lecture

Frederick Mac Manus: An Appreciation

Sean Rothery

Dublin Castle

Caring for Pipe Organs

Gerard Gillen and Wilfred Cantwell

RIAI Gold Medal 1977-1979

Central Bank Currency Centre

Sam Stephenson

Bord na Móna 

Sam Stephenson

Ailwee Cave access building

Andrzej Wejchert 

Organon Factory

Desmond Doyle and Burke-Kennedy Doyle

Cryptoporticus and Partners

Vicious and Vile 


Des Lamont


Sheehan Barry Architects
David Crowley Architects

Siamsa Tire

The National Folk Theatre of Ireland

Patrick O’Sullivan

News from the Schools

Bolton Street

Sean Rothery


Gerry Cahill

Cork 800

AnCo Training Centre

Green McCarthy Stansfeld

Perkin Elmer Factory

Green McCarthy Stansfeld

The Boole Library

Murray and Murray Murphy Partners

Shandon Craft Library

Boyd Barrett Murphy O’Connor

Killykeen Forest Park

Des McMahon


Across Deep Waters: Bridges in Ireland

Michael Barry

Eoin O Cofaigh

Lighting Architecture

Michael McMenamin

New Products



IIRS Fire Testing

Increase in Imports

Barrier-Free Buildings

Construction in Ireland 1985

Urban Planners

Ceiling Partition Accuracy

Editor: J. Owen Lewis.

Authors: J. Owen Lewis, Bill Hastings, Daniel Mac Randall, Gerard O'Callaghan, Hugh Murray, Tom Carr, Patricia Ennis, Patrick O'Sullivan, Gerard O’Callaghan, Sean Rothery, Gerard Gillen and Wilfred Cantwell, Sam Stephenson, Andrzej Wejchert, Desmond Doyle and Burke-Kennedy Doyle, Vicious and Vile, Des Lamont, David Crowley Architects, Patrick O’Sullivan, Sean Rothery, Gerry Cahill, Green McCarthy Stansfeld, Murray and Murray Murphy Partners, Boyd Barrett Murphy O’Connor, Des McMahon, Eoin O Cofaigh, Michael McMenamin.

Website by Good as Gold.