Become a member

Membership of Type allows unlimited access to our online library. Join to support new research and writing on the design of the built environment.

You can read more about membership here.

Become a member

Already a member? Login to your account to avail of unlimited downloads.

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter for all the latest new and updates.

Department of Architecture and Town Planning, DIT Bolton Street, 1992-1994

Dublin School of Architecture Press
€ 0.00 EUR

Celebrating the work of both staff and students during the academic years 1992/93 and 1993/94, this publication was designed to reflect the work produced in the school which covers almost all aspects of architectural education. The work itself does not follow an ideological path, instead it is hoped that through a flexible system of teaching an atmosphere has been created within the school whereby the student might develop their own architectural ideology.


First Year

Study Sheets – Vernacular Architecture

Keith McMullin, Aidan Nolan

Form Study

Rory Brady, Judith Ryan


Eoin Kingston, Edel Collins

Still Life

Ultan Donagher

Spatial Study

Edel Collins

House Project

Ultan Donagher

Cubic Study

Rosemary Costello, Deirdre McManus, John Smyth

Second Year

Measured Drawing

Liam McLoughlin, Alan Furlong, Aidan Nolan, Ultan Donagher, Sharon O’Brien, Sinead Bourke

Medical Accommodation

Michael Ring, T.G. Flynn, Fergal Fitzpatrick, Ruth Herman, Rory Brady

Brick Pavilion

Michael Ring, Fergal Fitzpatrick, Eoin Kingston

Timber Pavilion

Conor Moriarty, Susan Dawson, Oisin Clancy, Rory Brady, Sinead Bourke, Michael Ring, Fergal Fitzpatrick, Eoin Kingston

Lifeguards’ Tower

Eamon Gogarty

Futuristic Leisure Centre


Third Year

Study Sheets: Bordeaux, Berlin, Chicago, Louis Kahn, Adolf Loos

Water Testing Station

Thomas Sexton, Patrick Harrington, Darragh Murphy

Yacht Repair Facility

Michael Ring, Rosemary Bradley, Sinead Hughes

Vertical Composition

Jennifer Lynch, Sinead Hughes, Sinead Cullen, Ann Canning

Urban Projects at Smithfield, Amiens Street Station, Grand Canal Dock, Parnell Street, Christchurch, Patrick Street

Seamus Hanrahan, Sue Stringer, Gerard Harvey, Sharon O’Brien, Rossa Prendergast,

Artists’ Gallery Annascaul

Thomas Sexton, Darragh Murphy

Artists’ Retreat Inistioge

Veronica Blake, Gerard Harvey

Interact 1993 Student Accommodation

Aoife O’Donnell, Donal Hickey, Keith Graham

Interact 1994 School of Music

Rossa Prendergast, Eleanor Masterson, Fergal Fitzpatrick, David Dwyer, Sterrin O’Shea, Eleanor Donnelly, Jennifer Clarke, Gerard Harvey, Sinead Hughes

Fourth Year

Sheep Farmer’s House

Alan de Lacy

Yacht Club

Donal Hickey, Martin Colreavy

Chapel and Cemetery

R. Quinn, Gary Mongey

Galway Courthouse

Eithne Moran, David Creighton, Gary McGinty

RIAI Headquarters, Temple Bar

Hugh Kelly

Kilkenny Railway Station

Keith Graham, B.A Dowdall, Martin Colreavy

RIAI Travelling Scholarship – Rural Resource Centre, Raphoe

RIAI Travelling Scholarship – Research and Development Centre, Limerick

Patrick Harrington, Donal Hickey, Marcus Reid, Peter McGovern

Fifth Year

Thesis: National Opera House

David Mansfield 1993

Thesis: Chester Beatty Library

Stephen Roe 1993

Thesis: Oceanarium and Research Centre

Joanna Maher 1993

Thesis: International Advertising Agency

Jacques D’Arcy 1994

Thesis: Dublin Stock Exchange

Alan Begley 1994

The work of staff

Lego Architecture

J. Neil Downes

Sculpture and House

Eamonn O’ Doherty

Cliffs of Moher Competition

Niall McCullough, Valerie Mulvin

Athlone Library

Neil Sholdice


Ditte Kummer-O’Connor

Mews House

Cathal Crimmins

Editors: Edmund O’Shea, Noel Jonathan, James Horan.

Authors: James Horan, Eamonn O’ Doherty, Denis Bannister, Eva Byrne, Paul Kelly, Ditte Kummer-O’Connor, Kevin Fisher, Ultan Donagher, Edel Collins, Rory Brady, Judith Ryan, Eoin Kingston, Eoin Healy, Robert Fowler, Patrick De Roe, Peter Ferguson, Eamonn Murphy, Michael O’Sullivan, Michael Phillips, Noel Somerville, Ethan Walls, Frank Ford, Denis Byrne, Edward Conroy, Michael Fewer, Niall McCullough, Michael McGarry, Noel O’Doherty, Niall Brennan, Liam Carlin, Cathal Crimmins, Orla Hanly, J. Kip Hulvershorn, Tom Kirk, Ray McDonnell, Barbara O’Doherty, Desmond O’Dwyer, John Rearden, Sean Rothery. Photographer: Barbara Egan

Yearbook, thesis, student work, staff work, project, idea, Bolton street, design technology, freehand drawing, graphics, geometrical drawing, descriptive geometry, analysis, perception, model, drawing, study, precedent

Website by Good as Gold.